Page 1 of 1

Problem report Chessbase with SF

Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 2:26 pm
by Rapakei
Hello chessfriends,

I'm having trouble with Stockfish on Chessbase. I run Stockfish BMI2 on Chessbase 15.

I always get a message from: ''Stockfish 10 BMI2 caused an exception. This is a problem in the engine"

I tried the following: Move Stockfish 10 BMI2 to '' inactive '' and added a new engine but the problem is not solved. I searched the internet but couldn't find how to solve this. Does anyone know how I can fix this?

Regards Rapakei

Re: Problem report Chessbase with SF

Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
by pferd
You could try the latest version of Stockfish abrok.eu/stockfish

If I rember correctly, Stockfish 10 has a bug which can lead to occasional crashes, but it should be fixed in the version above.

Re: Problem report Chessbase with SF

Posted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:52 pm
by Modern Times
Does your CPU support BMI2 instructions ? Try the "modern" exe which has lower requirements, or indeed the standard one.

Re: Problem report Chessbase with SF

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 3:34 pm
by Rapakei
Modern Times wrote:
Wed Oct 23, 2019 5:52 pm
Does your CPU support BMI2 instructions ? Try the "modern" exe which has lower requirements, or indeed the standard one.

I tried with Stockfish 10 (64). Yesterday there was no problem but today again that message.

I also noticed that the startup of Chessbase and the engine startup are all slower than before. I have looked at the source view, there is still enough CPU but the frequency is immediately full.

Maybe an option to reinstall Chessbase or take older version Chessbase?

Re: Problem report Chessbase with SF

Posted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 3:38 pm
by Rapakei
pferd wrote:
Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
You could try the latest version of Stockfish abrok.eu/stockfish

If I rember correctly, Stockfish 10 has a bug which can lead to occasional crashes, but it should be fixed in the version above.

Is the latest version of Stockfish reliable and the same programmer M.Costalba?