get a tr3 workstation configured

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Dann Corbit
Posts: 11513
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:22 pm

In the first link I gave, you can choose the rackmount enclosure. Even if the thing is stuffed with blinking lights, you won't be able to see them
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 4365
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by MikeB » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:55 pm

Dann Corbit wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:22 pm
In the first link I gave, you can choose the rackmount enclosure. Even if the thing is stuffed with blinking lights, you won't be able to see them
haha +1 , I guess that is some form of remediation...
Image

smatovic
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by smatovic » Sat Nov 30, 2019 10:19 am

Hmm, you seem to search in three classes, desktop PC, workstation and server.

With servers the noise level and heat production does not matter, so you are
free to pick 2 socket systems and up to 8 or 10 gpus.

The question I ponder on is how to put up to two CPUs and up to four GPUs in an
desktop or workstation system with noise level below 40 db, preferred <=20 db.

Even the Bizon specs say they may reach up to 40 db (probably with an 4-way gpu
water-cooled setup).

The simple answer is, it is not possible. Too much of heat.

I guess an air-cooled desktop PC with ~100 Watt cpu and 2*300 Watt gpu is
feasible with several case-fans, but you may have less fun in summer time.

I'v read that in water-cooled-systems you will need one 120mm-radiator with fan
for about 100 Watts of heat for acceptable noise levels.

Bigger cases have place for 2*360mm up to 3*480mm radiators.

So with an water-cooled system I could cool 720 up to 1440 Watts with acceptable
noise level, assumed the surrounding is able to exchange the heated air.

2*300 Watt cpu + 4*300 Watt gpu = 1800 Watt

1*300 Watt cpu + 2*300 Watt gpu = 900 Watt

So the reasonable approach for me would be to pick an single socket cpu and two
gpus with an max of water-cooling...

--
Srdja

PS: current air-cooler for 300 Watt cpus reach up to 40 db, so this is not an
option for me.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 11513
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Sun Dec 01, 2019 5:52 am

A soundproofing box is less than 1000 dollars.
I bought one already for my 64 core box.

I want something powerful and upgradeable. I don't want to wimper when the three nanometer stuff is ready three years from now.

I am interested in nodes per dollar, but I also hate waiting.
Total cost is also important. Lower power is good if possible.
If the January AMD reveal is disappointing, I will probably go with server chips.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 11513
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:45 pm

https://www.digitalstorm.com/configurat ... id=1756195
Another place. Lots of blinking lights, though. I guess you can always buy sunglasses.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

DustyMonkey
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by DustyMonkey » Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:46 am

You can solve your noise AND cooling issues with....

https://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php

Dann Corbit
Posts: 11513
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:17 am

DustyMonkey wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:46 am
You can solve your noise AND cooling issues with....

https://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php
I have never heard of that. I am surprised it does not cause anything to delaminate, since it sits in hot oil all day,
I wonder if there are longevity studies for this technique
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

smatovic
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by smatovic » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:02 am

Dann Corbit wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:17 am
DustyMonkey wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:46 am
You can solve your noise AND cooling issues with....

https://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php
I have never heard of that. I am surprised it does not cause anything to delaminate, since it sits in hot oil all day,
I wonder if there are longevity studies for this technique
Hehe, with 1800 Watt I see an dual use upcoming ;-)

Image

fresh, hot fries...

--
Srdja

smatovic
Posts: 1470
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by smatovic » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:32 am

To complete the list of curiosities, there are also compressor chiller available to cool water systems....

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/Water ... 24997.html

Cools up to 3300 Watt, but only the 150 Watt model operates at ~20 db.

--
Srdja

Post Reply