get a tr3 workstation configured

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Dann Corbit
Posts: 10186
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:22 pm

In the first link I gave, you can choose the rackmount enclosure. Even if the thing is stuffed with blinking lights, you won't be able to see them
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

MikeB
Posts: 3539
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:34 am
Location: Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by MikeB » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:55 pm

Dann Corbit wrote:
Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:22 pm
In the first link I gave, you can choose the rackmount enclosure. Even if the thing is stuffed with blinking lights, you won't be able to see them
haha +1 , I guess that is some form of remediation...

smatovic
Posts: 931
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by smatovic » Sat Nov 30, 2019 10:19 am

Hmm, you seem to search in three classes, desktop PC, workstation and server.

With servers the noise level and heat production does not matter, so you are
free to pick 2 socket systems and up to 8 or 10 gpus.

The question I ponder on is how to put up to two CPUs and up to four GPUs in an
desktop or workstation system with noise level below 40 db, preferred <=20 db.

Even the Bizon specs say they may reach up to 40 db (probably with an 4-way gpu
water-cooled setup).

The simple answer is, it is not possible. Too much of heat.

I guess an air-cooled desktop PC with ~100 Watt cpu and 2*300 Watt gpu is
feasible with several case-fans, but you may have less fun in summer time.

I'v read that in water-cooled-systems you will need one 120mm-radiator with fan
for about 100 Watts of heat for acceptable noise levels.

Bigger cases have place for 2*360mm up to 3*480mm radiators.

So with an water-cooled system I could cool 720 up to 1440 Watts with acceptable
noise level, assumed the surrounding is able to exchange the heated air.

2*300 Watt cpu + 4*300 Watt gpu = 1800 Watt

1*300 Watt cpu + 2*300 Watt gpu = 900 Watt

So the reasonable approach for me would be to pick an single socket cpu and two
gpus with an max of water-cooling...

--
Srdja

PS: current air-cooler for 300 Watt cpus reach up to 40 db, so this is not an
option for me.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10186
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Sun Dec 01, 2019 5:52 am

A soundproofing box is less than 1000 dollars.
I bought one already for my 64 core box.

I want something powerful and upgradeable. I don't want to wimper when the three nanometer stuff is ready three years from now.

I am interested in nodes per dollar, but I also hate waiting.
Total cost is also important. Lower power is good if possible.
If the January AMD reveal is disappointing, I will probably go with server chips.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10186
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:45 pm

https://www.digitalstorm.com/configurat ... id=1756195
Another place. Lots of blinking lights, though. I guess you can always buy sunglasses.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

DustyMonkey
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:11 pm

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by DustyMonkey » Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:46 am

You can solve your noise AND cooling issues with....

https://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php

Dann Corbit
Posts: 10186
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by Dann Corbit » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:17 am

DustyMonkey wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:46 am
You can solve your noise AND cooling issues with....

https://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php
I have never heard of that. I am surprised it does not cause anything to delaminate, since it sits in hot oil all day,
I wonder if there are longevity studies for this technique
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

smatovic
Posts: 931
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by smatovic » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:02 am

Dann Corbit wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:17 am
DustyMonkey wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:46 am
You can solve your noise AND cooling issues with....

https://www.pugetsystems.com/submerged.php
I have never heard of that. I am surprised it does not cause anything to delaminate, since it sits in hot oil all day,
I wonder if there are longevity studies for this technique
Hehe, with 1800 Watt I see an dual use upcoming ;-)

Image

fresh, hot fries...

--
Srdja

smatovic
Posts: 931
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Full name: Srdja Matovic
Contact:

Re: get a tr3 workstation configured

Post by smatovic » Mon Dec 02, 2019 10:32 am

To complete the list of curiosities, there are also compressor chiller available to cool water systems....

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/Water ... 24997.html

Cools up to 3300 Watt, but only the 150 Watt model operates at ~20 db.

--
Srdja

Post Reply