A question with the rules of chess

Traditional chess games and chess topics in general

Moderators: fern, Dan Honeycutt, Sam Hull

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
h1a8
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:23 am

A question with the rules of chess

Post by h1a8 » Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:52 pm

If one side has king with two Knights against a king with one knight then can the side with a single Knight claim a draw? Is that a rule of all chess or a rule of some tournaments or not a rule anywhere?

Vinvin
Posts: 4373
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:40 am
Full name: Vincent Lejeune

Re: A question with the rules of chess

Post by Vinvin » Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:29 am

h1a8 wrote:If one side has king with two Knights against a king with one knight then can the side with a single Knight claim a draw? Is that a rule of all chess or a rule of some tournaments or not a rule anywhere?
I have never seen that rule.

The longest mate with KNNKN is 7 moves (there are 38 positions with mates in 7) :

[d]7n/8/8/3N4/1N1K4/8/8/k7 w - - 0 1

Terry McCracken
Posts: 15844
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:16 am
Location: Canada

Re: A question with the rules of chess

Post by Terry McCracken » Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:19 am

Much like having a pawn on the board, the losing side can have it's king fixed without drawing and has to move their Night allowing checkmate.
Terry McCracken

Look
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 12:14 pm
Location: Iran
Full name: Mehdi Amini
Contact:

Re: A question with the rules of chess

Post by Look » Wed Sep 09, 2015 6:42 am

Vinvin wrote:
h1a8 wrote:If one side has king with two Knights against a king with one knight then can the side with a single Knight claim a draw? Is that a rule of all chess or a rule of some tournaments or not a rule anywhere?
I have never seen that rule.

The longest mate with KNNKN is 7 moves (there are 38 positions with mates in 7) :

[d]7n/8/8/3N4/1N1K4/8/8/k7 w - - 0 1
It seems to me, the black knight prevents the game from being stalemate.

User avatar
gbtami
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: A question with the rules of chess

Post by gbtami » Wed Sep 09, 2015 7:59 pm

h1a8 wrote:If one side has king with two Knights against a king with one knight then can the side with a single Knight claim a draw? Is that a rule of all chess or a rule of some tournaments or not a rule anywhere?
There is no such a rule.
See http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html? ... ew=article

User avatar
sje
Posts: 4675
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 6:43 pm

7n/8/8/3N4/1N1K4/8/8/k7 w - - 0 1

Post by sje » Thu Sep 10, 2015 1:05 am

[d]7n/8/8/3N4/1N1K4/8/8/k7 w - - 0 1[/d]
Mate in seven: 1. Kc3 Kb1 2. Nd3 Ka2 3. Kb4 Ka1 4. Kb3 Kb1 5. Nc3+ Ka1 6. Nb4 Nf7 7. Nc2#

Post Reply