A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Marek Soszynski
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 5:28 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by Marek Soszynski » Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:14 pm

I have uploaded a new version (4.6.4) that includes performance improvements and bug fixes.I would like to thanks all the users that reported a bug for helping in making Scid better.
A special thanks also to Andreas Paulick for the new high-resolution piece sets.
As usual the downloads are available at sourceforge:http://sourceforge.net/projects/scid/fi ... cid%204.6/and a thanks to Ben for the wiki:
https://sourceforge.net/p/scid/wiki/search/?q=getscid
I hope you will enjoy it,Fulvio [Benini]
Marek Soszynski

Vikram
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:47 am
Location: India

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by Vikram » Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:42 am

Thanks for update

Jesse Gersenson
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by Jesse Gersenson » Wed Aug 03, 2016 5:58 am

Compiling now, thanks for the update.

Compile instructions are here
https://sourceforge.net/p/scid/wiki/CompileScid/

Vikram
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:47 am
Location: India

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by Vikram » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:32 pm

I am using windows version
In the toolbars i have selected all but still can't see option to flip the board

royb
Posts: 519
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:53 pm

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by royb » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:50 pm

Thanks for the update! Very significant difference from SCID 4.4 (the last version I had installed). Great stuff!

royb
Posts: 519
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:53 pm

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by royb » Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:02 pm

Is there a way in SCID 4.6.4 to annotate a game and have the user specify what text string SCID uses to say what engine and what time control was being used to produce the analysis?

Example:

I want to use Stockfish to annotate a GM game at 5 secs per move. I can get SCID to put in the engine string saying this: Stockfish 020816 64 BMI2: <and eval goes here>.

I'd like to run the same engine again for analysis but this time use 15 secs per move. It would be nice if I can force the annotator tag to say what I want: Stockfish 020816 @ 5 secs per move: <and eval goes here>. AND, then re-run analysis at 15 secs per move and have the first analysis run results left in the database, but add another line with the 15 secs per move analysis being shown: Stockfish 020816 @ 15 secs per move: <and eval goes here>.

That way, I can see how both the 5 sec and 15 sec per move analysis differs.

I hope what I'm asking is clear.

Thanks!

styx
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 8:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by styx » Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:15 pm

Vikram wrote:I am using windows version
In the toolbars i have selected all but still can't see option to flip the board
you can flip the board by pressing the period (".") key or after expanding the icons below the board, you can find it there:

Image

royb wrote:Is there a way in SCID 4.6.4 to annotate a game and have the user specify what text string SCID uses to say what engine and what time control was being used to produce the analysis?

Example:

I want to use Stockfish to annotate a GM game at 5 secs per move. I can get SCID to put in the engine string saying this: Stockfish 020816 64 BMI2: <and eval goes here>.

I'd like to run the same engine again for analysis but this time use 15 secs per move. It would be nice if I can force the annotator tag to say what I want: Stockfish 020816 @ 5 secs per move: <and eval goes here>. AND, then re-run analysis at 15 secs per move and have the first analysis run results left in the database, but add another line with the 15 secs per move analysis being shown: Stockfish 020816 @ 15 secs per move: <and eval goes here>.

That way, I can see how both the 5 sec and 15 sec per move analysis differs.

I hope what I'm asking is clear.

Thanks!
I dont think that is possible. You could duplicate the game and then re-run the analysis

Vikram
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 8:47 am
Location: India

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by Vikram » Wed Aug 03, 2016 3:32 pm

Thanks

royb
Posts: 519
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:53 pm

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by royb » Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:00 pm

styx wrote:
Vikram wrote:I am using windows version
In the toolbars i have selected all but still can't see option to flip the board
you can flip the board by pressing the period (".") key or after expanding the icons below the board, you can find it there:

Image

royb wrote:Is there a way in SCID 4.6.4 to annotate a game and have the user specify what text string SCID uses to say what engine and what time control was being used to produce the analysis?

Example:

I want to use Stockfish to annotate a GM game at 5 secs per move. I can get SCID to put in the engine string saying this: Stockfish 020816 64 BMI2: <and eval goes here>.

I'd like to run the same engine again for analysis but this time use 15 secs per move. It would be nice if I can force the annotator tag to say what I want: Stockfish 020816 @ 5 secs per move: <and eval goes here>. AND, then re-run analysis at 15 secs per move and have the first analysis run results left in the database, but add another line with the 15 secs per move analysis being shown: Stockfish 020816 @ 15 secs per move: <and eval goes here>.

That way, I can see how both the 5 sec and 15 sec per move analysis differs.

I hope what I'm asking is clear.

Thanks!
I dont think that is possible. You could duplicate the game and then re-run the analysis
So I'm not missing something that is already possible it seems. I'd like to see this feature added in a future release then!

Jesse Gersenson
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:43 am
Contact:

Re: A new version of Scid is available [4.6.4]

Post by Jesse Gersenson » Thu Aug 04, 2016 6:58 am

Wow, it's fast!!

Scid 4.3 took 16 seconds to open my database. Version 4.6.4 takes a second!

Post Reply