cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

BeyondCritics
Posts: 396
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 2:48 pm
Full name: Oliver Roese

cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics »

I am trying to use cutechess-cli to play some matches with spsa evaluation.
Unfortunately i get no screen output whatsoever, even with the -debug option.
Does anyone know a workaround?

I am using Ubuntu 17.10
I installed cutechess-cli 1.0.0 from their debian release
https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... _amd64.deb

My command line:

Code: Select all

exec $CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name="$TESTEE" cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name="$MASTER" cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds $ROUNDS -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug
AlvaroBegue
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:46 pm
Location: New York
Full name: Álvaro Begué (RuyDos)

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue »

Why are you using exec?
BeyondCritics
Posts: 396
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 2:48 pm
Full name: Oliver Roese

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics »

It saves resources. It is just an old habit of mine.
I removed the exec prefix, but it doesn't helped either.
AlvaroBegue
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:46 pm
Location: New York
Full name: Álvaro Begué (RuyDos)

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue »

Can you fill in the values for the variables so we can try the command ourselves?

EDIT: Also, try simplifying the command to see what is the simplest form of it that gives you trouble (e.g., no opening book, no UCI options, no use of SPRT...).
Last edited by AlvaroBegue on Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BeyondCritics
Posts: 396
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 2:48 pm
Full name: Oliver Roese

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics »

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

CUTE_CHESS_CLI="/usr/games/cutechess-cli"
MASTER_PATH="/home/oliver/bin/stockfish-master"
TESTEE_PATH="/home/oliver/git/chess/stockfish/master/src/stockfish_kbnk"
OPENINGS="/home/oliver/data/Software/Chess/2moves_v1.pgn"
SYZYGY="/home/oliver/data/syzygy/"

#movenumber=34
#-resign movecount=3 score=400

$CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds 2 -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug
A similar script did work with an older version of cutechess-cli.
AlvaroBegue
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:46 pm
Location: New York
Full name: Álvaro Begué (RuyDos)

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue »

Hmmm... I changed your script a bit so I could run it on my machine and it seems to work fine:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh 

CUTE_CHESS_CLI="/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli"
MASTER_PATH="fruit" 
TESTEE_PATH="fruit"
OPENINGS="/home/alvaro/ruy/swcr-fq-openings-v3.5.pgn" 
SYZYGY="/home/alvaro/syzygy" 

#movenumber=34 
#-resign movecount=3 score=400 

$CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds 2 -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug
EDIT: oh, I am using cutechess-cli 0.8.5 . That might explain the difference.
BeyondCritics
Posts: 396
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 2:48 pm
Full name: Oliver Roese

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics »

AlvaroBegue wrote:Hmmm... I changed your script a bit so I could run it on my machine and it seems to work fine:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh 

CUTE_CHESS_CLI="/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli"
MASTER_PATH="fruit" 
TESTEE_PATH="fruit"
OPENINGS="/home/alvaro/ruy/swcr-fq-openings-v3.5.pgn" 
SYZYGY="/home/alvaro/syzygy" 

#movenumber=34 
#-resign movecount=3 score=400 

$CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds 2 -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug
EDIT: oh, I am using cutechess-cli 0.8.5 . That might explain the difference.
I downloaded version 0.85 from their releases page, but it still doesn't show any console output. Moreover, i got an error first:

Code: Select all

Warning: Unknown option: "-tb"
Could you run
/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli --version
to see which version that shows?

The cutechess-cli version of Ubuntu 16.04 (Xenial) worked for me, maybe i should use that within an docker image. I will post how it goes.
pferd
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by pferd »

BeyondCritics wrote: I downloaded version 0.85 from their releases page, but it still doesn't show any console output. Moreover, i got an error first:

Code: Select all

Warning: Unknown option: "-tb"
.
I am running Arch Linux here with the latest cutechess-cli compiled from source and your script works like a charm.

Instead of using the -tb command you could either hard code the tb-path into the stockfish binary or you could try something like option.SyzygyPath="$SYZYGY"
BeyondCritics
Posts: 396
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 2:48 pm
Full name: Oliver Roese

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics »

AlvaroBegue wrote:Can you fill in the values for the variables so we can try the command ourselves?

EDIT: Also, try simplifying the command to see what is the simplest form of it that gives you trouble (e.g., no opening book, no UCI options, no use of SPRT...).
This should be the simplest.

Code: Select all

/home/oliver/data/Software/Chess/cutechess-cli/cutechess-cli  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci tc=1+0.1  -ratinginterval 5 -rounds 10 -debug
Still no cigar.
AlvaroBegue
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:46 pm
Location: New York
Full name: Álvaro Begué (RuyDos)

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue »

BeyondCritics wrote:Could you run
/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli --version
to see which version that shows?
That's what I did:

Code: Select all

alvaro@ryzen7:~$ /home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli --version
cutechess-cli 0.8.5
Using Qt version 5.7.1
[...]