fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
noctiferus
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Italy

fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by noctiferus » Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:45 am

After a long time, I decided to change my old Fritz10 to the new Fritz16, attracted by some gadget as improved commented analysis, monte carlo, training test in tact, openings and so on.
It's a bit unstable, but ok... Now an update is published from version 1 (mine one) to version 6. I launch the updater, and a warning appears:
" Impossible to start the application: its configuration is not correct"
Had anybody else this experience, or the trouble is in my system?
Thx in advance.

tpoppins
Posts: 919
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 8:11 pm
Location: upstate

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by tpoppins » Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:22 am

You probably need to have one of Microsoft's Visual C++ Redistributable Packages installed. Try a 2010 one from the linked list (x86 for 32-bit systems, x64 for 64-bit ones); if you still get the error, try a 2012 one, or one from 2015.

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by reflectionofpower » Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:58 am

try rebooting your system
"hodie mihi, cras tibi"

Lonnie

noctiferus
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Italy

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by noctiferus » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:35 am

Problem solved. :D
I got VC++2015 and rebooted. It was my system's problem.

Many thanks to Lonnie and T. Poppins.

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by reflectionofpower » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:48 am

noctiferus wrote:Problem solved. :D
I got VC++2015 and rebooted. It was my system's problem.

Many thanks to Lonnie and T. Poppins.
That's what I like about this forum is that you can get specific answers to your problems relating to chess software,configurations,etc. Recently I was helped with Houdini 6 running slow when it was accessing the EGTB. Problem solved there too.
"hodie mihi, cras tibi"

Lonnie

Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:11 am

VC++ 2015 is installed, GUI update 6, Fritz 16 win32 UCI ok, but
cannot run Fritz 16 GUI:

Last command executed?

Problemsignatur:
Problemereignisname /name of trouble event: werapitest (eventType)
Betriebsystemversion / OS version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Gebietsschema-ID /regional settings: 1031

Quad-Core i5, 4 GB RAM, Windows 7 32-bit; engine+GUI =>activation ok

Norbert

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by reflectionofpower » Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:41 am

Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:VC++ 2015 is installed, GUI update 6, Fritz 16 win32 UCI ok, but
cannot run Fritz 16 GUI:

Last command executed?

Problemsignatur:
Problemereignisname /name of trouble event: werapitest (eventType)
Betriebsystemversion / OS version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Gebietsschema-ID /regional settings: 1031

Quad-Core i5, 4 GB RAM, Windows 7 32-bit; engine+GUI =>activation ok

Norbert
reboot and if you still have a problem uninstall Fritz 16 (Chessprogram 16), run Regscanner - http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/regscanner.html and remove all traces of fritz 16, reboot and install from scratch.
"hodie mihi, cras tibi"

Lonnie

Norbert Raimund Leisner
Posts: 1587
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:57 pm
Location: Augsburg - Germany

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by Norbert Raimund Leisner » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:13 pm

that procedure did not work for me, reboot+ new installation;

on Windows 7 64-bit this error indication occurs:

Problemereignisname: APPCRASH
Anwendungsname: ChessProgram16.exe
Anwendungsversion: 16.1.0.0
Anwendungszeitstempel: 5a09b20a
Fehlermodulname: SView4.dll
Fehlermodulversion: 6.5.0.0
Fehlermodulzeitstempel: 5a044f4c
Ausnahmecode: c0000005
Ausnahmeoffset: 000000000003d36b
Betriebsystemversion: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Gebietsschema-ID: 1031
Zusatzinformation 1: 07d4
Zusatzinformation 2: 07d4186973d80cc07db11014a4935d04
Zusatzinformation 3: 43d2
Zusatzinformation 4: 43d20a7d96d4aa40c123e60453079d9e

Mailed it to CB support.

Norbert

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1455
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by reflectionofpower » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:25 pm

Norbert Raimund Leisner wrote:that procedure did not work for me, reboot+ new installation;

on Windows 7 64-bit this error indication occurs:

Problemereignisname: APPCRASH
Anwendungsname: ChessProgram16.exe
Anwendungsversion: 16.1.0.0
Anwendungszeitstempel: 5a09b20a
Fehlermodulname: SView4.dll
Fehlermodulversion: 6.5.0.0
Fehlermodulzeitstempel: 5a044f4c
Ausnahmecode: c0000005
Ausnahmeoffset: 000000000003d36b
Betriebsystemversion: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Gebietsschema-ID: 1031
Zusatzinformation 1: 07d4
Zusatzinformation 2: 07d4186973d80cc07db11014a4935d04
Zusatzinformation 3: 43d2
Zusatzinformation 4: 43d20a7d96d4aa40c123e60453079d9e

Mailed it to CB support.

Norbert
But did you rip away all vestiges of prior installation in your registry. Uninstalling a program usually leaves the residual in the registry. This is why I always "CLEAN" my registry with say Ccleaner. Do not use one that DEFRAGS as it always screws up your computer and you'll be reinstalling your whole computer from scratch.

You are better off CALLING CB instead of the email. The problem will be resolved much quicker: https://en.chessbase.com/pages/contact.
"hodie mihi, cras tibi"

Lonnie

noctiferus
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:27 am
Location: Italy

Re: fritz16 GUI update6: I'm in trouble...

Post by noctiferus » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:23 pm

Right. it's a great help.
Thx again.

Post Reply