Komodo 12 and MCTS

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5133
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by AdminX » Thu May 31, 2018 9:42 am

Ozymandias wrote:
Thu May 31, 2018 9:34 am
Can you try with MPV off?
Yes, with it off it does not show. I am seeing Qd4 in that case.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5133
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by AdminX » Thu May 31, 2018 11:54 am

When doing Deep Cloud analysis using Chessbase, If I use 3 Komodo engines, do you think Komodo MCTS should be used at root (root candidates) and the rest normal Komodo for the analysis crawlers and expected answers?
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
Ozymandias
Posts: 1102
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:30 am

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by Ozymandias » Thu May 31, 2018 12:18 pm

I don't think it matters much, those analysis methods don't usually work as intended. I seem to remember having tried it, and it was faulty, same thing for iDea or CB's other attempts (was it shared analysis or Monte Carlo approach?).

schack
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 1:32 am
Contact:

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by schack » Thu May 31, 2018 2:48 pm

Q for Larry and Mark: are hash table requirements less if using MCTS?

shrapnel
Posts: 1153
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:43 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Re: Exploiting versus exploring

Post by shrapnel » Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:56 am

main line wrote:
Thu May 31, 2018 9:06 am
Monte Carlo can't find Qc4!! played by AlphaZero. And Monte Carlo analysis doesn't work :shock:
Naturally it won't. It's not going to be found by an Engine like Komodo which is standing on one leg, literally !
No NN, no brilliant moves.
It spots on my system.
Really ? after how many hours of Analysis and how many tweaks to Settings ?
If one is prepared to spend hours tweaking Komodo/Houdini one can find most of the moves made by the Powerful AlphaZero ; BUT not consistently and it takes time . Remember that AlphaZero made all those brilliant moves consistently UNDER ONE MINUTE.
Comparing Komodo to AlphaZero is like comparing the brightness of the Moon to the Sun !
i7 5960X @ 4.1 Ghz, 64 GB G.Skill RipJaws RAM, Asus ROG Strix 11 GB Geforce 1080 Ti and AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @4.0 GHz, 32 GB DDR4-2400 G.Skill RAM, ASUS Prime x370-PRO, Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4 Cooler.

marsell
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:14 am

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by marsell » Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:00 am

just one question: where is this ominous Alpha Zero
You're talking about engines that don't exist and Leela Zero is weak.
Sorry Bro

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5133
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Exploiting versus exploring

Post by AdminX » Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:14 am

shrapnel wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:56 am
It spots on my system.
Really ? after how many hours of Analysis and how many tweaks to Settings ?
It found it right away, no tweaking required. Before you even think about accusing me of lying, know this ... I have better things to do with my time than lie to you. Just note the time stamps of the 1st and 2nd post. I saw his post about 15 minutes after he posted it, then entered the moves on my system to test it and replied.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

Leo
Posts: 816
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:55 pm
Location: USA/Minnesota
Full name: Leo

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by Leo » Fri Jun 01, 2018 2:59 pm

marsell wrote:
Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:00 am
just one question: where is this ominous Alpha Zero
You're talking about engines that don't exist and Leela Zero is weak.
Sorry Bro
Good question. If you want the best chess played now where do you go? The latest Stockfish of course.
Advanced Micro Devices fan.

marsell
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:14 am

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by marsell » Fri Jun 01, 2018 3:01 pm

+1

glennsamuel32
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:31 pm
Location: 223

Re: Komodo 12 and MCTS

Post by glennsamuel32 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 3:54 pm

@The Komodo Team

Perhaps Daniel's project below can aid in implementing NN ?

http://talkchess.com/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=67600

Post Reply