TCEC gui is great now but

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
Hai
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:19 am

TCEC gui is great now but

Post by Hai » Fri Aug 03, 2018 7:43 pm

we are missing the metal board :twisted:

Paloma
Posts: 765
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:07 pm

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by Paloma » Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:06 pm

Hai wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 7:43 pm
we are missing the metal board :twisted:
and the S12 and S13 Archive. :shock:

pohl4711
Posts: 993
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:25 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by pohl4711 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:09 pm

And Ivanhoe calculates 2.5 Mn/s on 43 cores? There must be something going totally wrong in that TCEC.
2.5Mn/s has Ivanhoe on my machines on 2 cores, not on 43 cores... what a Top Chess Engine Competition is that?
Last edited by pohl4711 on Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 23295
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller
Contact:

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by hgm » Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:16 pm

milli-nodes per second? :shock: Perhaps it runs on a hand-cranked calculator?

tmokonen
Posts: 992
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Vancouver

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by tmokonen » Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:36 pm

Has IvanHoe ever really been tested with that many cores before? It seems the scaling is awful after a certain point. Was there not a more modern engine available for that spot?

pferd
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:49 pm

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by pferd » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:17 pm

tmokonen wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:36 pm
Has IvanHoe ever really been tested with that many cores before? It seems the scaling is awful after a certain point. Was there not a more modern engine available for that spot?
I don't think so. Maybe it can run on 43 threads but it seems to be the same version that has competed a couple of years ago.

Edit: I just started IvanHoe version 999946h-RL on my machine and I had to change TitanicMode to true and edit TitanicCPUSizings to 4 before it ran on multiple threads. Got around 8000k on my machine

Ras
Posts: 1130
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by Ras » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:47 pm

hgm wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:16 pm
milli-nodes per second?
Big-M is Mega, small-m is milli.
Rasmus Althoff
https://www.ct800.net

pohl4711
Posts: 993
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:25 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by pohl4711 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:02 am

[quote=pferd post_id=770125 time=1533334644
Edit: I just started IvanHoe version 999946h-RL on my machine and I had to change TitanicMode to true and edit TitanicCPUSizings to 4 before it ran on multiple threads. Got around 8000k on my machine
[/quote]

Then, everything is clear. In this TCEC, they give the uci-command “Threads=43“ to Ivanhoe, which is wrong (the uci-commands are shown, when an engine plays and you click on the small gearbox-icon).
And Ivanhoe doesnt know this command... so he plays in singlecore-mode!
Correct uci-commands would have been:
TitanicMode=true
TitanicCPUSizings=43

User avatar
hgm
Posts: 23295
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:06 am
Location: Amsterdam
Full name: H G Muller
Contact:

Re: TCEC gui is great now but

Post by hgm » Sat Aug 04, 2018 6:34 am

Ras wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:47 pm
hgm wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:16 pm
milli-nodes per second?
Big-M is Mega, small-m is milli.
Indeed.

Post Reply