alpha bound in hash table

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

User avatar
xr_a_y
Posts: 1871
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:28 pm
Location: France

Re: alpha bound in hash table

Post by xr_a_y »

Tests I ran tonight show that storing alpha bound is very bad in terms of elo (-200).
I guess there is a mistake somewhere.
The actual mini source code

Code: Select all

 if ( skipMove==INVALIDMOVE && alphaUpdated) TT::setEntry({bestMove,bestScore,hashBound,depth,computeHash(p)});
 
removing the && alphaUpdated lose 200 elo ...

I am lost !
RubiChess
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:20 am
Full name: Andreas Matthies

Re: alpha bound in hash table

Post by RubiChess »

xr_a_y wrote: Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:30 am Tests I ran tonight show that storing alpha bound is very bad in terms of elo (-200).
I will test how Rubi works without storing "bestmove not raising alpha" (which of course may not be the real best move) but I fear it won't win 200 ELO :-)

Andreas
RubiChess
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:20 am
Full name: Andreas Matthies

Re: alpha bound in hash table

Post by RubiChess »

RubiChess wrote: Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:39 pm
xr_a_y wrote: Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:30 am Tests I ran tonight show that storing alpha bound is very bad in terms of elo (-200).
I will test how Rubi works without storing "bestmove not raising alpha" (which of course may not be the real best move) but I fear it won't win 200 ELO :-)

Andreas
Ran the test. Rubi loses about 10 elo if I don't store the "bestmove" at fail low.

Andreas
User avatar
xr_a_y
Posts: 1871
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:28 pm
Location: France

Re: alpha bound in hash table

Post by xr_a_y »

Ok thanks for the test. Re-running another myself with Minic...
User avatar
xr_a_y
Posts: 1871
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:28 pm
Location: France

Re: alpha bound in hash table

Post by xr_a_y »

xr_a_y wrote: Fri Nov 30, 2018 9:42 am Ok thanks for the test. Re-running another myself with Minic...
Unfortunatly I can confirm that in Minic, setting a alpha bound hash entry give very bad result, -200 elo in gauntlet with many other variations:

Code: Select all

   0 minic_dev                      95      15    1367   63.3%   37.2%
   ...
  12 minic_test                   -113      54      86   34.3%   47.7%
I'll run a 1versus1 selfplay to be sure...