Scorpio 3.0.2

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
User avatar
Werner
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:09 pm

Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by Werner » Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:41 pm

Hi,
there is a new version with some improvement in search and switched to new TensorRT 6.0 that enabled use of SE (squeeze-excitation) networks
https://github.com/dshawul/Scorpio/releases
as the larger do not work correct at the moment (wait for a bugfix) , I have tested this version with network 32930:

1 Scorpio 3.0.2 MCTS+NN ID-32930 +53 +20/=75/-5 57.50% 57.5/100
2 Stockfish 10.0 x64 1CPU -53 +5/=75/-20 42.50% 42.5/100

I know, these are only 100 games but they show a great improvement over the own maddex net. It seems to me - it is not easy to make a good own net for Scorpio. With it´s RTX GPU we will have to wait many months….

best wishes
Werner
Werner

Daniel Shawul
Posts: 3762
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Ethiopia
Contact:

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by Daniel Shawul » Sun Oct 06, 2019 2:31 pm

Hi Werner,

Thanks for the test!

I am also surprized in a good way by this result even though it is just 100 games.
I suspect INT8 helped a lot here since it seems to perform better than lc0 with the same net.

For those who want to help out with network training here is my webpage: http://scorpiozero.ddns.net
Earlier clients had a bug that probably turned away many potential helpers, so please try again if that was your experience.

regards,
Daniel

Damir
Posts: 2191
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: Denmark
Full name: Damir Desevac

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by Damir » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:21 pm

Werner wrote:
Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:41 pm
Hi,
there is a new version with some improvement in search and switched to new TensorRT 6.0 that enabled use of SE (squeeze-excitation) networks
https://github.com/dshawul/Scorpio/releases
as the larger do not work correct at the moment (wait for a bugfix) , I have tested this version with network 32930:

1 Scorpio 3.0.2 MCTS+NN ID-32930 +53 +20/=75/-5 57.50% 57.5/100
2 Stockfish 10.0 x64 1CPU -53 +5/=75/-20 42.50% 42.5/100

I know, these are only 100 games but they show a great improvement over the own maddex net. It seems to me - it is not easy to make a good own net for Scorpio. With it´s RTX GPU we will have to wait many months….

best wishes
Werner
And where exactly is this new version you just mentioned? It still shows the old version and not the updated one.

jpqy
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:31 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by jpqy » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:34 pm

When you download you get 3.0.2 ..i just tried it ..dubble click on exe ,type uci and i see 3.0.2 !

Daniel Shawul
Posts: 3762
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Ethiopia
Contact:

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by Daniel Shawul » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:49 pm

I suggest you use one of the installers, install.bat for windows and install.sh for linux.
It will automatically configure scorpio.ini for you depending on whether you have a GPU or not.

pohl4711
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:25 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by pohl4711 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:44 am

Does not work.

I installed new Scorpio with install.bat on a new Notebook with RTX2060 (Windows 10 64bit). Then I started:
scorpio.bat runinpnn calibrate.epd calibrate.dat quit

But no calibrate.dat-file is built.

And when I try to run Scorpio (after changing the .ini File parameter from HALF to INT8 and then running
scorpio.bat float_type INT8 go quit)

, it says, calibrate.dat-file is missing (of course)

User avatar
George Tsavdaris
Posts: 1614
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:35 am

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by George Tsavdaris » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:13 am

Does not work for me either.
ScorpioNN installation with the install.bat failed for unknown reason (Threadripper 2990 WX, RTX 2080+2060, 64 GiB RAM, Microsoft Windows 10 x64 pro).
Image
After his son's birth they've asked him:
"Is it a boy or girl?"
YES! He replied.....

pohl4711
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:25 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by pohl4711 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:30 am

George Tsavdaris wrote:
Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:13 am
Does not work for me either.
ScorpioNN installation with the install.bat failed for unknown reason (Threadripper 2990 WX, RTX 2080+2060, 64 GiB RAM, Microsoft Windows 10 x64 pro).
Strange. The installing works fine on my machine. But the calibrate.dat-file, which is needed for the (faster) INT8-calculations is not built...

After installation, more steps are needed (if Scorpio 3.0.2 would work properly) (of course, your NVIDIA-GPU-driver must be up:
-to-date)

1) run Scorpio with that parameters (create an empty textfile in the Windows/bin folder, rename it to a .bat-File, copy the text below in it, save the file and start the.bat-file with doubleclick):
scorpio.bat runinpnn calibrate.epd calibrate.dat quit

This should build a new file (very large (1.4GB)), called calibrate.dat. Scorpio 3 did that. Scorpio 3.0.2 not.

2) Change the "float_type" to "INT8" in scorpio.ini (and - if you want - choose another (better) NN (change the nn-path parameter in the scorpio.ini file to a lc0-NN)) and run scorpio one more time:
scorpio.bat float_type INT8 go quit

3) Finally run:
scorpio.bat go quit

Then, Scorpio should run with INT8. But, because Step 1 fails on my machine, I cannot continue to Step 3...
Last edited by pohl4711 on Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:45 am, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
George Tsavdaris
Posts: 1614
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:35 am

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by George Tsavdaris » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:35 am

I wish it would be that easy as Leela.
Download the files and run them. :(
After his son's birth they've asked him:
"Is it a boy or girl?"
YES! He replied.....

pohl4711
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:25 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Scorpio 3.0.2

Post by pohl4711 » Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:41 am

George Tsavdaris wrote:
Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:35 am
I wish it would be that easy as Leela.
Download the files and run them. :(
Yes, but if you follow the 3 steps, I described here, Scorpio should work. At least in cutechess and Arena. In FritzGUI, it does not run, because FritzGUI does not allow .bat-files as engine-files.
But I agree, the setup and handling of Scorpio is a nightmare, compared to lc0, Allie or Stockfish.

Post Reply