Some Questions About Stockfish 1.8 Engine

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Post Reply
David Schumaker

Some Questions About Stockfish 1.8 Engine

Post by David Schumaker » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:22 pm

Will somebody please answer my Stockfish 1.8 engine question? Please take a look at the following link to know what I am talking about.

http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=35822

I just want to know if Zugzwang detection is turned on or not by default. Seems to me that maybe some 20 to 30 elo points could be gained by turning it on. Does anybody else have similar results with this engine?

Thanks..........................................................

zullil
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: PA USA

Re: Some Questions About Stockfish 1.8 Engine

Post by zullil » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:36 am

David Schumaker wrote:Will somebody please answer my Stockfish 1.8 engine question? Please take a look at the following link to know what I am talking about.

http://talkchess.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=35822

I just want to know if Zugzwang detection is turned on or not by default. Seems to me that maybe some 20 to 30 elo points could be gained by turning it on. Does anybody else have similar results with this engine?

Thanks..........................................................
I believe it is on by default in 1.8. See http://www.talkchess.com/forum/viewtopi ... 32&start=0

Paloma
Posts: 634
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:07 pm

Re: Help to run STOCKFISH in command line

Post by Paloma » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:13 pm

Hi Louis,

how exactly setup you a position to stockfish and run it in command line?

With crafty i can do this, search around in this forum helps me to do that.

But with stockfish i'm not able to run a position with time set? (e.g. for 300sec)

I found out this:

setoption name UCI_AnalyseMode value true
position fen 6rk/1pp2prp/p2pnb1q/4p3/1PP1Ppb1/3P1N1P/PB3PP1/1R1B1QRK b - - 0 25
setoption name Hash value 256
setoption name Threads value 1
setoption name Ponder value false

then:
go depth 18 -> it works

or:
go infinite -> it works, but difficult to stop this, type stop or quit helps not, i found out first ESC then type quit.
Gives there an easier way?

Now my problem:
I'm not able to run Stockfish with time limit:
st 300 doesn't work
Time set 300 doesn't work

Can you explain me this and another parameter?


For Crafty it works so:

White(1): setboard 2rr4/p5kp/1n1Np3/2p2p2/8/2RR4/PP3PPP/6K1 b - - 1 24
Black(1): st 300
search time set to 300.00. (300sec.)

regards

zullil
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: PA USA

Re: Help to run STOCKFISH in command line

Post by zullil » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:30 pm

Paloma wrote:Hi Louis,

how exactly setup you a position to stockfish and run it in command line?

But with stockfish i'm not able to run a position with time set? (e.g. for 300sec)

I found out this:

setoption name UCI_AnalyseMode value true
position fen 6rk/1pp2prp/p2pnb1q/4p3/1PP1Ppb1/3P1N1P/PB3PP1/1R1B1QRK b - - 0 25
setoption name Hash value 256
setoption name Threads value 1
setoption name Ponder value false
Try

Code: Select all

go movetime 300000
(The UCI protocol specifies that movetime is given in milliseconds.)

Paloma
Posts: 634
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:07 pm

Re: Help to run STOCKFISH in command line

Post by Paloma » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:51 pm

Code: Select all

go movetime 300000
Many thanks Louis,

but where is a review, a _command synopsis_ ?

i tried:
help stockfish-18-64-ja
stockfish-18-64-ja help
stockfish-18-64-ja -help
stockfish-18-64-ja /help
stockfish-18-64-ja /?

nothing helps :-(

zullil
Posts: 4878
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: PA USA

Re: Help to run STOCKFISH in command line

Post by zullil » Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:34 pm

The commands you are entering are UCI commands. You can read here:

http://wbec-ridderkerk.nl/html/UCIProtocol.html

Paloma
Posts: 634
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:07 pm

Re: Help to run STOCKFISH in command line

Post by Paloma » Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:53 pm

Ah i got it.

Thanks again

Post Reply