A new chess engine: hactar

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

User avatar
tsoj
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Germany, Berlin
Full name: Jost Triller

A new chess engine: hactar

Post by tsoj »

Hello!
I wrote a chess engine in Rust, called hactar; it is not super good but I had fun writing it!

Here's a demo game against PyChess.py, the default engine of the PyChess GUI.
[pgn]
[Event "Lokales Ereignis"]
[Site "Lokaler Ort"]
[Date "2018.01.13"]
[Round "1"]
[White "PyChess.py"]
[Black "hactar"]
[Result "0-1"]
[TimeControl "1200+0"]
[WhiteClock "0:12:08.029"]
[BlackClock "0:16:58.060"]
[PlyCount "50"]

1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 Nc6 3. Nf3 d5 4. cxd5 Qxd5 5. Nc3 Qa5 6. Bd2 Bg4 7. Ne4 Qd5 8.
Nc3 Qh5 9. e3 a6 10. Qe2 e5 11. dxe5 Nxe5 12. O-O-O Nxf3 13. Qc4 Nxd2 14. Rxd2
Bd6 15. Ne4 O-O 16. Nxd6 cxd6 17. Kb1 Rac8 18. Qf4 Ne4 19. Rd4 Be6 20. Bd3 Qa5
21. b3 Bxb3 22. axb3 Nd2+ 23. Kb2 Qc3+ 24. Ka2 Qxb3+ 25. Ka1 Qa3# 0-1[/pgn]
https://github.com/tsoj/hactar
User avatar
cdani
Posts: 2204
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:24 am
Location: Andorra

Re: A new chess engine: hactar

Post by cdani »

Nice. Congratulations!!
tmokonen
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:46 pm
Location: Kelowna
Full name: Tony Mokonen

Re: A new chess engine: hactar

Post by tmokonen »

The version number on the release page says 0.9.0. It's the only release on there.
User avatar
tsoj
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Germany, Berlin
Full name: Jost Triller

Re: A new chess engine: hactar

Post by tsoj »

I only let it play a few times against PyChess.py and a random chess.com player. It seems slightly better than PyChess but not too much; there were one or two draws.
Also, it draws some games that are clearly won because I haven't implemented the 3-move-, and 50-move-rule yet.