MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: bob, hgm, Harvey Williamson

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
Post Reply
Milton
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:58 pm

MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by Milton » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:14 am

I recently came across my old M-Chess Pro 7 (Copyright 1997) cd. Does anyone know of a way to run it on a new computer with Windows 10?

Thanks!

supersharp77
Posts: 782
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 5:54 am
Location: Southwest USA

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by supersharp77 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:17 am

Milton wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:14 am
I recently came across my old M-Chess Pro 7 (Copyright 1997) cd. Does anyone know of a way to run it on a new computer with Windows 10?

Thanks!
DosBox?.........Its worth a try... :) :wink:

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5284
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by AdminX » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:10 am

Strong program for it's time.

"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

mwyoung
Posts: 1764
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:00 pm

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by mwyoung » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:22 am

AdminX wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:10 am
Strong program for it's time.

Yes M Chess Pro was one of the best programs for its time. I remember testing it online on my awesomely powerful Pentium Pro 200! Fun Times!!!
Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,
Take on me. foes 0

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5284
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by AdminX » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:31 am

10 Games with strong players.

"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5284
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by AdminX » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:49 am

This is definitely a bot I would like to see on LiChess. Or maybe LiChess or Chess.com could hold a Redemption Tournament where the Human GMs could try to redeem themselves against these old computer pioneers. :D
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

User avatar
mclane
Posts: 16404
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:40 pm
Location: US of Europe, germany
Full name: Thorsten Czub
Contact:

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by mclane » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:20 am

I have it running on my mobile phone with magic dos box.
I made an image of the cd so I can give Android the copy protection cd.
What seems like a fairy tale today may be reality tomorrow.
Here we have a fairy tale of the day after tomorrow....

User avatar
AdminX
Posts: 5284
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by AdminX » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:57 am

mclane wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:20 am
I have it running on my mobile phone with magic dos box.
I made an image of the cd so I can give Android the copy protection cd.
Thanks! I got it working on my Tablet. The controls are going to take a little getting use to, but it is working fine. :D Update, I set the mouse to Adsolute and all is fine now with the controls.
"Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions."
__________________________________________________________________
Ted Summers

Vinvin
Posts: 4418
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:40 am
Full name: Vincent Lejeune

Re: MChess Pro 7 in Windows 10

Post by Vinvin » Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:23 am

supersharp77 wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:17 am
Milton wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:14 am
I recently came across my old M-Chess Pro 7 (Copyright 1997) cd. Does anyone know of a way to run it on a new computer with Windows 10?

Thanks!
DosBox?.........Its worth a try... :) :wink:
Yes, DosBox allows to run a lot of old softwares. You can use "D-Fend Reloaded" to configure the parameters automatically.
The problem with DosBox is the slow down of the execution. Softwares run around 1/10 the speed of the native executable :(
Here, you can find a lot of chess oldies already set with D-Fend Reloaded here : http://www.rebel13.nl/download/more%20dos%20oldies.html

Post Reply