Fritz 16

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Forum rules
This textbox is used to restore diagrams posted with the [d] tag before the upgrade.
SzG
Posts: 2463
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 6:20 am
Location: Szentendre, Hungary
Full name: Gabor Szots

Re: Fritz 16

Post by SzG » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:49 am

BrendanJNorman wrote:So many new bells and whistles...

But all they really need is support for WinBoard engines (WB2UCI is annoying and seems buggy to me) and I'll buy immediately.

Something tells me that'll never happen. :(
They do not even support their old .eng format any longer.
Gabor Szots

CCRL testing group

BrendanJNorman
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:43 pm

Re: Fritz 16

Post by BrendanJNorman » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:51 am

SzG wrote:
BrendanJNorman wrote:So many new bells and whistles...

But all they really need is support for WinBoard engines (WB2UCI is annoying and seems buggy to me) and I'll buy immediately.

Something tells me that'll never happen. :(
They do not even support their old .eng format any longer.
That why, when I use Fritz for something, I use the Hiarcs 13 GUI ;)
Check my site for engine reviews and other chess stuff :)

www.chessncognac.com

kasinp
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Fritz 16

Post by kasinp » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:36 pm

Aser Huerga wrote:
kasinp wrote:It does say that "the new multiprocessor engine was developed by star programmer Vas Rajlich ("Rybka") and is up there with the global elite."

Sounds like a continuation of Rybka development to me.

PK
I guess they forget to add "a few years ago ...". I bet for the same Rybka 4.1, maybe slightly tweaked.
Just installed it, and you may be right :).

1. It feels almost identical to the Fritz15 engine
2. Parameters look exactly like they did in Rybka series
3. Hash seems still limited to 4GB
4. It is a UCI engine
5. It does use Syzygy tablebases.

no idea as to strength increase, yet.
PK

kasinp
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Fritz 16

Post by kasinp » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:58 pm

kasinp wrote:
Aser Huerga wrote:
kasinp wrote:It does say that "the new multiprocessor engine was developed by star programmer Vas Rajlich ("Rybka") and is up there with the global elite."

Sounds like a continuation of Rybka development to me.

PK
I guess they forget to add "a few years ago ...". I bet for the same Rybka 4.1, maybe slightly tweaked.
Just installed it, and you may be right :).

1. It feels almost identical to the Fritz15 engine
2. Parameters look exactly like they did in Rybka series
3. Hash seems still limited to 4GB
4. It is a UCI engine
5. It does use Syzygy tablebases.

no idea as to strength increase, yet.
PK
Syzygy are used by the GUI. It seems the engine still needs Nalimov to be able to use TB in search.

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: Fritz 16

Post by reflectionofpower » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:23 pm

noctiferus wrote:thx. My fault, did not see it.
I wonder if there will be an UCI version or only a Fritz engine.
No way in H-E- double hockey sticks. They never have but you never know.
"hodie mihi, cras tibi"

Lonnie

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: Fritz 16

Post by reflectionofpower » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:24 pm

SzG wrote:
BrendanJNorman wrote:So many new bells and whistles...

But all they really need is support for WinBoard engines (WB2UCI is annoying and seems buggy to me) and I'll buy immediately.

Something tells me that'll never happen. :(
They do not even support their old .eng format any longer.
:( I used to be able to and we are talking years ago run the Nimzo.eng in it. Those were the days (sigh)
"hodie mihi, cras tibi"

Lonnie

User avatar
Nordlandia
Posts: 2037
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:38 pm
Location: Sortland, Norway

Re: Fritz 16

Post by Nordlandia » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:28 pm

Peter Kasinski: how did you manage to get Fritz 16 so early?

kasinp
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Fritz 16

Post by kasinp » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:48 pm

Nordlandia wrote:Peter Kasinski: how did you manage to get Fritz 16 so early?
English chessbase site had it available about 2 hours ago already. Just look in the chess programs section. And it is on special! (along with everything else in the store @25% off).

(running a blitz test match against Shredder 13 now)

PK

User avatar
Nordlandia
Posts: 2037
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:38 pm
Location: Sortland, Norway

Re: Fritz 16

Post by Nordlandia » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:16 pm

kasinp wrote:
Nordlandia wrote:Peter Kasinski: how did you manage to get Fritz 16 so early?
English chessbase site had it available about 2 hours ago already. Just look in the chess programs section. And it is on special! (along with everything else in the store @25% off).

(running a blitz test match against Shredder 13 now)

PK
Wonderful website. I tried login to my account and that resulted in IP-address being blocked for 60 minutes...

Login on purchase is recommended :evil:

User avatar
reflectionofpower
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: USA

Re: Fritz 16

Post by reflectionofpower » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:22 pm

Nordlandia wrote:
kasinp wrote:
Nordlandia wrote:Peter Kasinski: how did you manage to get Fritz 16 so early?
English chessbase site had it available about 2 hours ago already. Just look in the chess programs section. And it is on special! (along with everything else in the store @25% off).

(running a blitz test match against Shredder 13 now)

PK
Wonderful website. I tried login to my account and that resulted in IP-address being blocked for 60 minutes...

Login on purchase is recommended :evil:
You must have tried to login 3X's and many other sites will do the same security feature. Just use a VPN extension for your browser and it'll make your IP different.
"hodie mihi, cras tibi"

Lonnie

Post Reply