128-core AMD server

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

Dann Corbit
Posts: 8593
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by Dann Corbit » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:02 am

jdart wrote:I think it is basically 4 32 core computers in one chassis. So all 128 cores are not available for one process to use. Not a big deal for me, since I already have scripts to distribute the workloads I use across multiple machines. Anyway, it would be hard to use 128 cores concurrently for one process in an efficient manner (given memory contention, NUMA issues and other factors).

--Jon
I use 62 cores on my 64 core box all the time. It is my default setting.

Now, to be efficient with lots of cores, the program must be NUMA aware.
But, for instance, I am quite sure that the TCEC contest is on a NUMA machine.
Arasan seemed to run pretty well on it.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

User avatar
Rebel
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:04 am

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by Rebel » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:11 am

jdart wrote:They still have one left, if anyone is interested.
Interested yes, but I am afraid my lovely wife would divorce me.

elpapa
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:27 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by elpapa » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:55 am

Rebel wrote:
jdart wrote:They still have one left, if anyone is interested.
Interested yes, but I am afraid my lovely wife would divorce me.
What you need to do is make a list. Wife: pros and cons, blade server: pros and cons. If the wife wins, make sure you burn or eat the list before she finds it.

User avatar
jshriver
Posts: 1103
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:41 pm
Location: Morgantown, WV, USA
Contact:

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by jshriver » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:04 am

Cluster in a box :) love it!

Curious are there 4 PSU as well or does it have some nifty one that powers 2 or more?

jdart
Posts: 3488
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by jdart » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:13 am

Looks like 2 power supplies for the 4 units.

--Jon

User avatar
jshriver
Posts: 1103
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:41 pm
Location: Morgantown, WV, USA
Contact:

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by jshriver » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:16 am

jdart wrote:Looks like 2 power supplies for the 4 units.

--Jon
Slick man! Part of me wants to see a crafty benchmark on a 32cpu node :)

Dann Corbit
Posts: 8593
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by Dann Corbit » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:43 am

I bought the other one.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Dann Corbit
Posts: 8593
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by Dann Corbit » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:56 am

Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

jdart
Posts: 3488
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:23 am
Location: http://www.arasanchess.org

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by jdart » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:01 am

I installed Ubuntu Server on mine. I just made a boot USB drive, as detailed here:

https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/linux/c ... -easy-way/

It was already set up to boot first from USB so it started right into the Ubuntu installer.

--Jon

Dann Corbit
Posts: 8593
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA
Contact:

Re: 128-core AMD server

Post by Dann Corbit » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:06 am

jdart wrote:I installed Ubuntu Server on mine. I just made a boot USB drive, as detailed here:

https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/linux/c ... -easy-way/

It was already set up to boot first from USB so it started right into the Ubuntu installer.

--Jon
I did the same thing with my 64 core box.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.

Post Reply