cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Discussion of chess software programming and technical issues.

Moderators: hgm, Harvey Williamson, bob

BeyondCritics
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 12:48 pm
Location: Bergheim

cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics » Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:20 am

I am trying to use cutechess-cli to play some matches with spsa evaluation.
Unfortunately i get no screen output whatsoever, even with the -debug option.
Does anyone know a workaround?

I am using Ubuntu 17.10
I installed cutechess-cli 1.0.0 from their debian release
https://github.com/cutechess/cutechess/ ... _amd64.deb

My command line:

Code: Select all

exec $CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name="$TESTEE" cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name="$MASTER" cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds $ROUNDS -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug

AlvaroBegue
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:46 pm
Location: New York

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue » Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:25 pm

Why are you using exec?

BeyondCritics
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 12:48 pm
Location: Bergheim

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics » Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:33 pm

It saves resources. It is just an old habit of mine.
I removed the exec prefix, but it doesn't helped either.

AlvaroBegue
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:46 pm
Location: New York

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue » Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:39 pm

Can you fill in the values for the variables so we can try the command ourselves?

EDIT: Also, try simplifying the command to see what is the simplest form of it that gives you trouble (e.g., no opening book, no UCI options, no use of SPRT...).
Last edited by AlvaroBegue on Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BeyondCritics
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 12:48 pm
Location: Bergheim

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics » Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:44 pm

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

CUTE_CHESS_CLI="/usr/games/cutechess-cli"
MASTER_PATH="/home/oliver/bin/stockfish-master"
TESTEE_PATH="/home/oliver/git/chess/stockfish/master/src/stockfish_kbnk"
OPENINGS="/home/oliver/data/Software/Chess/2moves_v1.pgn"
SYZYGY="/home/oliver/data/syzygy/"

#movenumber=34
#-resign movecount=3 score=400

$CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds 2 -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug
A similar script did work with an older version of cutechess-cli.

AlvaroBegue
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:46 pm
Location: New York

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue » Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:48 pm

Hmmm... I changed your script a bit so I could run it on my machine and it seems to work fine:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh 

CUTE_CHESS_CLI="/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli"
MASTER_PATH="fruit" 
TESTEE_PATH="fruit"
OPENINGS="/home/alvaro/ruy/swcr-fq-openings-v3.5.pgn" 
SYZYGY="/home/alvaro/syzygy" 

#movenumber=34 
#-resign movecount=3 score=400 

$CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds 2 -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug
EDIT: oh, I am using cutechess-cli 0.8.5 . That might explain the difference.

BeyondCritics
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 12:48 pm
Location: Bergheim

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics » Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:16 pm

AlvaroBegue wrote:Hmmm... I changed your script a bit so I could run it on my machine and it seems to work fine:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh 

CUTE_CHESS_CLI="/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli"
MASTER_PATH="fruit" 
TESTEE_PATH="fruit"
OPENINGS="/home/alvaro/ruy/swcr-fq-openings-v3.5.pgn" 
SYZYGY="/home/alvaro/syzygy" 

#movenumber=34 
#-resign movecount=3 score=400 

$CUTE_CHESS_CLI  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci option.Hash=4 tc=7+0.07 -openings file=$OPENINGS order=random -pgnout /run/user/1000/test.pgn -ratinginterval 1 -concurrency 2 -repeat -recover -resign movecount=6 score=100 -draw movenumber=10 movecount=6 score=20 -rounds 2 -tb $SYZYGY -sprt elo0=0 elo1=2 alpha=0.05 beta=0.05 -debug
EDIT: oh, I am using cutechess-cli 0.8.5 . That might explain the difference.
I downloaded version 0.85 from their releases page, but it still doesn't show any console output. Moreover, i got an error first:

Code: Select all

Warning: Unknown option: "-tb"
Could you run
/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli --version
to see which version that shows?

The cutechess-cli version of Ubuntu 16.04 (Xenial) worked for me, maybe i should use that within an docker image. I will post how it goes.

pferd
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:49 pm

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by pferd » Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:25 pm

BeyondCritics wrote: I downloaded version 0.85 from their releases page, but it still doesn't show any console output. Moreover, i got an error first:

Code: Select all

Warning: Unknown option: "-tb"
.
I am running Arch Linux here with the latest cutechess-cli compiled from source and your script works like a charm.

Instead of using the -tb command you could either hard code the tb-path into the stockfish binary or you could try something like option.SyzygyPath="$SYZYGY"

BeyondCritics
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 12:48 pm
Location: Bergheim

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by BeyondCritics » Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:46 pm

AlvaroBegue wrote:Can you fill in the values for the variables so we can try the command ourselves?

EDIT: Also, try simplifying the command to see what is the simplest form of it that gives you trouble (e.g., no opening book, no UCI options, no use of SPRT...).
This should be the simplest.

Code: Select all

/home/oliver/data/Software/Chess/cutechess-cli/cutechess-cli  -engine name=testee cmd="$TESTEE_PATH" -engine name=master cmd="$MASTER_PATH" -each proto=uci tc=1+0.1  -ratinginterval 5 -rounds 10 -debug
Still no cigar.

AlvaroBegue
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:46 pm
Location: New York

Re: cutechess-cli produces no screen output under Linux

Post by AlvaroBegue » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:10 pm

BeyondCritics wrote:Could you run
/home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli --version
to see which version that shows?
That's what I did:

Code: Select all

alvaro@ryzen7:~$ /home/alvaro/Downloads/cutechess-master/projects/cli/cutechess-cli --version
cutechess-cli 0.8.5
Using Qt version 5.7.1
[...]

Post Reply