Page 13 of 144

Re: Banksia GUI released

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:46 am
by Ponti
Can I add a human player in a tournament ?

Re: Banksia GUI released

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:04 am
by phhnguyen
Ponti wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:46 am
Can I add a human player in a tournament ?
Very interesting idea!!!

However, at the moment we can't.

If you want to vs an engine, just open a normal game, set (menu File -> Game setup) one side to human (you) and the other side to an engine.

Re: Banksia GUI released

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 5:02 pm
by Guenther
It would be nice, if someone else with Win7-64 would test syzygy adjudication respectively, if Banksia will crash if such a position is reached.

Thanks for the help.

Re: Banksia GUI released..A Few Issues

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
by supersharp77
First Banksia 0.5 was downloaded and it had some problems.....Pure Winboard engines not working...chess piece resizing and lack of a adjudication button for the tourney games...lack of a tourney crosstable (full size or resized) to follow the game results...A the time of the release of version 0.7 I had around 140 engines loaded but was unable to complete any tournaments at all to the present date.......My Swiss tourneys stopped after 1 round.....and the KO tourney I was running stopped after 1 round because GUI had trouble running the tiebreaks for a few of the matches and stopped after 1 round with 128 engine in the tourney....So indeed this GUI has some issues......also many engines don't seem to run or load properly.....and some engines crash for some unexplained reasons before the matches.....Dunno....I guess best is to wait until all the bugs are sorted out.....AR :) :wink: :|




ps: One good thing is that when Banksia 0.5 was removed and Banksia 0.7 added to the folder...it seemed to read the prior engine list and settings without any problems.but I don't know why..perhaps there is a engines settings folder somewhere in my documents that Banksia 0.7 picked up from v0.5...

Re: Banksia GUI released..A Few Issues

Posted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:32 am
by phhnguyen
Thanks a lot for the report, supersharp!

supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
First Banksia 0.5 was downloaded and it had some problems.....Pure Winboard engines not working...
Do you mean Winboard protocol version 1? BSG doesn't support WB ver 1, only ver 2. Sorry.
supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
chess piece resizing
Can you tell me more? You don't like that feature? BTW, you can turn it (auto-resizing) off: go to Settings->Graphics and untick "Auto resize board".
supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
and lack of a adjudication button for the tourney games...
When creating a tournament, you can find Adjudication box (near the bottom of the dialog window). At the moment, users can turn on/off, adjudicate games by length (set 0 if you want to ignore) and by probing Syzygy.

If you need different functions, tell me :)

Image
supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
lack of a tourney crosstable (full size or resized) to follow the game results...
From version 0.8 BSG has already tourney crosstable (it is auto-updated, sortable)

Image

supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
A the time of the release of version 0.7 I had around 140 engines loaded but was unable to complete any tournaments at all to the present date.......My Swiss tourneys stopped after 1 round.....and the KO tourney I was running stopped after 1 round because GUI had trouble running the tiebreaks for a few of the matches and stopped after 1 round with 128 engine in the tourney....So indeed this GUI has some issues......also many engines don't seem to run or load properly.....and some engines crash for some unexplained reasons before the matches.....Dunno....I guess best is to wait until all the bugs are sorted out.....AR :) :wink: :|

ps: One good thing is that when Banksia 0.5 was removed and Banksia 0.7 added to the folder...it seemed to read the prior engine list and settings without any problems.but I don't know why..perhaps there is a engines settings folder somewhere in my documents that Banksia 0.7 picked up from v0.5...
Thanks again for the info. I have added them to my notes and TODO list. I am going to check/fix them.

Re: Banksia GUI released..A Few Issues

Posted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 7:03 am
by Guenther
phhnguyen wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:32 am
...
supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
and lack of a adjudication button for the tourney games...
When creating a tournament, you can find Adjudication box (near the bottom of the dialog window). At the moment, users can turn on/off, adjudicate games by length (set 0 if you want to ignore) and by probing Syzygy.

If you need different functions, tell me :)

Image
...
At least adjudication by eval should be added. (with a condition)

Re: Banksia GUI released

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:33 am
by Ponti
Is there a chance to support DGT eletronic boards ?

Re: Banksia GUI released..A Few Issues

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 7:59 am
by phhnguyen
Guenther wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 7:03 am
phhnguyen wrote:
Tue Dec 03, 2019 2:32 am
...
supersharp77 wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:16 pm
and lack of a adjudication button for the tourney games...
When creating a tournament, you can find Adjudication box (near the bottom of the dialog window). At the moment, users can turn on/off, adjudicate games by length (set 0 if you want to ignore) and by probing Syzygy.

If you need different functions, tell me :)

Image
...
At least adjudication by eval should be added. (with a condition)
Thanks for the suggestion. I have been trying to implement it for the next release

Re: Banksia GUI released

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 8:00 am
by phhnguyen
Ponti wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:33 am
Is there a chance to support DGT eletronic boards ?
Sorry, not for the coming time. I don't have those boards either.

Re: Banksia GUI released

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 8:30 am
by BrendanJNorman
phhnguyen wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 8:00 am
Ponti wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 4:33 am
Is there a chance to support DGT eletronic boards ?
Sorry, not for the coming time. I don't have those boards either.
Really impressed by this GUI, and the speed of your progress! I'll be willing to pay for it when it reaches official release stage. 8-)

For now, could you make it possible to resize the engine name/clock area.

It seems to me that the clock/engine name is very small in relation to the board and other windows. :mrgreen:

Another issue is that for engines with drop-down options (such as Komodo 13.2/ProDeo or Rodent 4's personality options) these do not appear, only an empty space. :cry: