Toyfish: chess engine in Python for absolute beginners

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

maksimKorzh
Full name: Maksim Korzh

Toyfish: chess engine in Python for absolute beginners

Post by maksimKorzh »

Hey what's up guys, Code Monkey King's here.
I'd like to announce the beginning of a new tutorial series on my chess programming YouTube channel.
It's dedicated to absolute beginners who want to write their very first chess engine from scratch quickly and with fun)
I've considered Python programming language as a weapon of choice and came up with exactly 100 lines of source code!
The engine turned out to be extremely simple so I decided to call "Toyfish" as something completely opposed to Stockfish)

SOURCE CODE:
https://github.com/maksimKorzh/toyfish

YOUTUBE SERIES (Just starting...):

See you on the other side)
Cheers!
KLc
Full name: Kurt Lanc

Re: Toyfish: chess engine in Python for absolute beginners

Post by KLc »

Nice, I like Python engines. Can't you make this quickly into a UCI engine using the https://github.com/niklasf/python-chess module? Then one could actually play against it. Also, maybe you can try to remove all of the limitations even if you get some more lines of code because these are quite severe.
hgm
Full name: H G Muller

Post by hgm »

Nice! So you use pure minimax and no QS.

This won't be very strong. But I am sure you already know that. And it doesn't matter much; it seems that for playing against human non-club-players 1 ply + QS is already too strong. And at that depth the advantage of alpha-beta over minimax is not yet overwhelming.

One suggestion: use a recapture extension. Don't always call search recursively with depth-1, but only decrement the depth if the to-square is unequal to the to-square of the previous ply. That should lead to far less idiotic play, especially at the very low depths you will be able to reach with minimax.