Myracle GUI

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderator: Ras

mar
Posts: 3007
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Full name: Martin Sedlak

Re: Myracle GUI

Post by mar »

SSTATHIS wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2026 7:45 am Is it possible to regenerate html and txt crosstable file of a finished tournament if deleted by accident?
the html and txt crosstable are regenerated after each finished game, so if you have the tournament intact you should be able to do that by replaying a single game of a finished tournament, if you load it into the GUI
SSTATHIS
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:55 pm

Re: Myracle GUI

Post by SSTATHIS »

mar wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2026 8:53 am
SSTATHIS wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2026 7:41 am After the problem with Hiarcs all games in pgn file deleted! Now I have only 792 games in pgn of the tournament instead of 42340 (146 engines, 4 rounds). Something happened when update to 132 version and Hiarcs report the problem....
hmm this definitely should not happen, the tournament pgn file is never deleted and should contain all the original games. (unless new tournament is started and the user should be asked via a messagebox)
is it the original tournament pgn or the one that is saved later via file menu?
Its the original.
mar
Posts: 3007
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Full name: Martin Sedlak

Re: Myracle GUI

Post by mar »

SSTATHIS wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2026 10:47 am
mar wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2026 8:53 am
SSTATHIS wrote: Tue Sep 22, 2026 7:41 am After the problem with Hiarcs all games in pgn file deleted! Now I have only 792 games in pgn of the tournament instead of 42340 (146 engines, 4 rounds). Something happened when update to 132 version and Hiarcs report the problem....
hmm this definitely should not happen, the tournament pgn file is never deleted and should contain all the original games. (unless new tournament is started and the user should be asked via a messagebox)
is it the original tournament pgn or the one that is saved later via file menu?
Its the original.
myracle never deletes any games from the original tournament pgn, so no idea how this happened (never happened to me or anyone else before as far as I can recall)

the error about default option change only pauses the tournament and doesn't delete any files or games.
there are only two cases where the tournament pgn would be deleted by the GUI:
- the user clicks the reset! button in the tournament tab and confirms the messagebox
- the user starts a new tournament with the same file and confirms the overwrite messagebox

it's also possible that if the user tries to delete an engine in the middle of the list and confirms the messagebox, then all games of this and the remaining engines are tagged for replay; however the replays are only appended to the original pgn
only other theoretical thing would be using the save game as from the file menu and overwriting the tournament pgn (while confirming the overwrite messabox), but I doubt this was the case.

only other possibility is some external factor perhaps?

again I'm sorry that this happened to you, but unless I can't reproduce the problem there's not much I can do.
perhaps trying some unerase tool if it helps? but if the file was truncated, not sure if it'd help.