Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:56 am
Location: London, England
Full name: Jim Ablett

Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Jim Ablett »

Image
by Robert Hyatt, Harry L. Nelson, and Albert Gower.

Cray Blitz v49h

I finally compiled a working version (after about 15 years) :)

Console input only. Enter moves as d2d4 etc.

There is no manual with the program.
I have included some literature on the program that I found on the web.

Cray Blitz 49h JA.

https://drive.proton.me/urls/PB3EZGK18R#oSYIxCv3ZIF7

Jim.
User avatar
Steve Maughan
Posts: 1221
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:28 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Steve Maughan »

Jim — That's really awesome!
http://www.chessprogramming.net - Maverick Chess Engine
User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:56 am
Location: London, England
Full name: Jim Ablett

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Jim Ablett »

Steve Maughan wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 8:16 pm Jim — That's really awesome!
Cheers Steve.

Type 'help' in the console for all the available commands.

Jim.
Dann Corbit
Posts: 12541
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Dann Corbit »

Unspeakably cool. Now, if only I had my own Cray to make the experience complete.
When I was at the UW, students could get Cray time for projects.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.
Dann Corbit
Posts: 12541
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Dann Corbit »

What compiler was used?
Was it gfortran or something else?

OK, I see in the batch files it was Intel ifort
Unfortunately, I don't have it.
I had an inkling to make an xboard interface for cray blitz.
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.
User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:56 am
Location: London, England
Full name: Jim Ablett

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Jim Ablett »

Dann Corbit wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 10:31 pm What compiler was used?
Was it gfortran or something else?

OK, I see in the batch files it was Intel ifort
Unfortunately, I don't have it.
I had an inkling to make an xboard interface for cray blitz.
Hi Dann,

I used latest Intel Fortran Compiler. I couldn't get it to compile with gfortran.
If you look in the src folder you will find the src files converted to C (translated by f2c).
I managed to compile it with the C files with Gcc/Clang but executable would just exit when launched.

best,
Jim.
User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:56 am
Location: London, England
Full name: Jim Ablett

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Jim Ablett »

Jim Ablett wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 10:42 pm
Dann Corbit wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 10:31 pm What compiler was used?
Was it gfortran or something else?

OK, I see in the batch files it was Intel ifort
Unfortunately, I don't have it.
I had an inkling to make an xboard interface for cray blitz.
Hi Dann,

I used latest Intel Fortran Compiler. I couldn't get it to compile with gfortran.
If you look in the src folder you will find the src files converted to C (translated by f2c).
I managed to compile it with the C files with Gcc/Clang but executable would just exit when launched.

best,
Jim.
I just noticed. I didn't link the C files with libf2c.lib as you are supposed to, Maybe it'll work now.

Jim.
Dann Corbit
Posts: 12541
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA USA

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Dann Corbit »

I installed ifx and ifort.
There were a couple errors installing, so I am not sure it will work.
This is an AMD machine, not Intel.
I had problems with the Intel C++ compiler years ago with incorrect code generation (which is why we switched back to Microsoft Visual Studio at the time).
Their profiler was heavily stunted under Windows on AMD, so you could not see what was going on as well on an AMD platform.
I was able to compile and link the Fortran with both ifx and ifort.
But in neither case do I see the computer's move when I let it go first.
How do I know what the computer played?
Taking ideas is not a vice, it is a virtue. We have another word for this. It is called learning.
But sharing ideas is an even greater virtue. We have another word for this. It is called teaching.
User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:56 am
Location: London, England
Full name: Jim Ablett

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Jim Ablett »

Dann Corbit wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 11:23 pm I installed ifx and ifort.
There were a couple errors installing, so I am not sure it will work.
This is an AMD machine, not Intel.
I had problems with the Intel C++ compiler years ago with incorrect code generation (which is why we switched back to Microsoft Visual Studio at the time).
Their profiler was heavily stunted under Windows on AMD, so you could not see what was going on as well on an AMD platform.
I was able to compile and link the Fortran with both ifx and ifort.
But in neither case do I see the computer's move when I let it go first.
How do I know what the computer played?
I think you've found a bug there. It won't play a move until you've made one even when it's playing as white. :o
User avatar
Jim Ablett
Posts: 1384
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:56 am
Location: London, England
Full name: Jim Ablett

Re: Cray Blitz 49h available (working!)

Post by Jim Ablett »

Jim Ablett wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 11:58 pm
Dann Corbit wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 11:23 pm I installed ifx and ifort.
There were a couple errors installing, so I am not sure it will work.
This is an AMD machine, not Intel.
I had problems with the Intel C++ compiler years ago with incorrect code generation (which is why we switched back to Microsoft Visual Studio at the time).
Their profiler was heavily stunted under Windows on AMD, so you could not see what was going on as well on an AMD platform.
I was able to compile and link the Fortran with both ifx and ifort.
But in neither case do I see the computer's move when I let it go first.
How do I know what the computer played?
I think you've found a bug there. It won't play a move until you've made one even when it's playing as white. :o

Ok, I figured it out.

After you start a new game and answer 'yes' to choose cray blitz as white it will immediately asks you to enter a move, just type 'go' and it will make it's first move. Type 'd' after this to display the board and see the move.

Jim.