13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

Milton
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:58 am

13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Post by Milton »

I received my 13” iPad Pro yesterday 5/15/24 and at the present time it does not seem to work with SmallFish for StockFish. The issue is with the gui. The white pieces below the pawns are beneath the board among other gui misalignments. I guess Ted Wong will correct the problem in the near future. I sent him an email.
I would be interest to know if anyone else is experiencing problems.
h1a8
Posts: 512
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:23 am

Re: 13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Post by h1a8 »

I pray that he puts in an option to see the kn/s.
That will help us compare devices and see if all cores are being used.
Lion
Posts: 536
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:26 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: 13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Post by Lion »

I use Chess Studio which seems to use latest Stockfish with NNUE.
That said, since it uses the NNUE engine, its very slow on my ipad pro M1. its around 300-500 kn/s....
royb
Posts: 546
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:53 am

Re: 13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Post by royb »

Lion wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 3:54 pm I use Chess Studio which seems to use latest Stockfish with NNUE.
That said, since it uses the NNUE engine, its very slow on my ipad pro M1. its around 300-500 kn/s....
Speed with NNUE in KN/sec is going to be lower, naturally. Playing strength with NNUE is significantly improved of course, so it's a win overall.
Magnum
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2021 10:24 pm
Full name: Arnold Magnum

Re: 13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Post by Magnum »

Lion wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 3:54 pm I use Chess Studio which seems to use latest Stockfish with NNUE.
That said, since it uses the NNUE engine, its very slow on my ipad pro M1. its around 300-500 kn/s....
It's still to strong.

But 300-500 kn/s looks clearly buggy.
I hope he is not using brew install stockfish --HEAD, because self compiled versions are around 2.3 times faster.
Does the Chess Studio person know how to compile Stockfish?

make -j profile-build COMP=clang ARCH=apple-silicon

strip stockfish

./stockfish compiler

See:
https://ipmanchess.yolasite.com/amd--in ... ckfish.php
7.500.000 = 7500 kn/s with old Stockfish 14.1.

A new Stockfish has dotprod support, so you should get 15000 kn/s.
Let's say the net size has doubled = still 7500 kn/s.
Let's say the net size has doubled again = still 3750 kn/s.
300-500 kn/s are not possible.
I know a person which has 500 kn/s with newest Stockfish on a very very very old smartphone.
Lion
Posts: 536
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:26 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: 13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Post by Lion »

royb wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 4:49 pm
Lion wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 3:54 pm I use Chess Studio which seems to use latest Stockfish with NNUE.
That said, since it uses the NNUE engine, its very slow on my ipad pro M1. its around 300-500 kn/s....
Speed with NNUE in KN/sec is going to be lower, naturally. Playing strength with NNUE is significantly improved of course, so it's a win overall.
Well, it’s so much slower that I wonder if it’s really stronger or even as strong than the non NNUE that runs more than 20x faster on the same iPad….
Milton
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:58 am

Re: 13” iPad Pro issues With SmallFish

Post by Milton »

Ted Wong posted a patch which fixes the gui issues I originally reported in this thread. Everything works fine now. Thanks Ted!