How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Hi guys,

I'm using DroidFish and the awesome chess engines collection from:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/chess- ... -oex/files

Rodent 4 has a) personalities decoupled from b) ELO.
b) is what I don't know how to set.

a) Setting personalities txt files via the file open picker in the engine settings is impossible, because nobody on earth knows where those files reside in the filesystem. I just entered grumpy.txt and hope it uses it. Maybe that part is solved.

b) Rodent doc says "[...] the latter – by setting UCI_Elo
parameter. " How? Where would I find such a setting?

b) is a crucial point, because playing Rodent 3000+ ELO is not why I chose it.

Thank you!

I wanted to add a screenshot, isn't that implemented to the forum, or just not for new users?
Ras
Posts: 2523
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 8:19 pm
Full name: Rasmus Althoff

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Ras »

tapio wrote: Fri May 31, 2024 7:43 amb) Rodent doc says "[...] the latter – by setting UCI_Elo
parameter. " How? Where would I find such a setting?
https://github.com/peterosterlund2/droi ... g-strength
Rasmus Althoff
https://www.ct800.net
tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Ras wrote: Fri May 31, 2024 7:53 amhttps://github.com/peterosterlund2/droi ... g-strength[/url]
Ugh thx, I overlooked it, because I expected it inside or close to the "Manage chess engines" slider.
Ras
Posts: 2523
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 8:19 pm
Full name: Rasmus Althoff

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Ras »

tapio wrote: Fri May 31, 2024 7:43 ama) Setting personalities txt files via the file open picker in the engine settings is impossible, because nobody on earth knows where those files reside in the filesystem.
It seems that this is also possible: https://github.com/peterosterlund2/droi ... ci-engines. See the part with DroidFish/uci/logs as working directory.
Rasmus Althoff
https://www.ct800.net
tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Ras wrote: Fri May 31, 2024 9:10 am
tapio wrote: Fri May 31, 2024 7:43 ama) Setting personalities txt files via the file open picker in the engine settings is impossible, because nobody on earth knows where those files reside in the filesystem.
It seems that this is also possible: https://github.com/peterosterlund2/droi ... ci-engines. See the part with DroidFish/uci/logs as working directory.
Ah, so I can put the personality files there... a bit messy, but I hope it works and they are used.
I wonder why if there is a working dir, why the file picker in engine options doesn't start there.
tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Ras wrote: Fri May 31, 2024 9:10 amIt seems that this is also possible: https://github.com/peterosterlund2/droi ... ci-engines. See the part with DroidFish/uci/logs as working directory.
Rodent will not work that way unfortunately. Thanks to Archimedes findings, this is the solution for R4:

Rodent 4: Binary goes into droidfish/uci/, books/ and personalities/ to storage/emulated/0/Rodent4/ - engine option in DroidFish will then allow to pick PersonalityA and PersonalityB from a dropdown.

Rodent 3 DroidFish: Whereever you put books/ and personalities/, R3 does not seem to find them. Impossible to solve for mere mortals 😜

Acid Ape vs Rodent 4: We have an oex apk binary, but I find no way make it use pers/books. Probably a scope issue.

It's all a real PITA. My guess is, people use Rodent on Android and are unaware that it's not necessarily using personality and for sure not personality books.
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

tapio wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 9:54 am
Ras wrote: Fri May 31, 2024 9:10 amIt seems that this is also possible: https://github.com/peterosterlund2/droi ... ci-engines. See the part with DroidFish/uci/logs as working directory.
Rodent will not work that way unfortunately. Thanks to Archimedes findings, this is the solution for R4:

Rodent 4: Binary goes into droidfish/uci/, books/ and personalities/ to storage/emulated/0/Rodent4/ - engine option in DroidFish will then allow to pick PersonalityA and PersonalityB from a dropdown.

Rodent 3 DroidFish: Whereever you put books/ and personalities/, R3 does not seem to find them. Impossible to solve for mere mortals 😜

Acid Ape vs Rodent 4: We have an oex apk binary, but I find no way make it use pers/books. Probably a scope issue.

It's all a real PITA. My guess is, people use Rodent on Android and are unaware that it's not necessarily using personality and for sure not personality books.
In any case, the variant with the installation file (APK file) also works under DroidFish. Provided that you copy the two directories books and personalities into the /storage/emulated/0/Rodent4 (/sdcard/Rodent4) directory. The two directories are available in the assets directory (simply rename *.apk to *.zip). In Rodent III you will probably have to make some changes to the source code to make it work like Rodent 4.

In any case, it works so far with Rodent 4. Better a bird in the hand than a pigeon on the roof. :)
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

Some time ago, the author also offered a NNUE version for testing.

https://prodeo.actieforum.com/t647-rodent-nnue

Seems to work under DroidFish. At least the books are recognized. You would have to test whether the personality files work.
tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Archimedes wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:36 amhttps://prodeo.actieforum.com/t647-rodent-nnue

Seems to work under DroidFish.
I don't find an Android binary in that 7z file?
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

tapio wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 12:52 pm
Archimedes wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:36 amhttps://prodeo.actieforum.com/t647-rodent-nnue

Seems to work under DroidFish.
I don't find an Android binary in that 7z file?
Rodent NNUE 1.0:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/chess- ... p/download