How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Discussion of anything and everything relating to chess playing software and machines.

Moderators: hgm, Rebel, chrisw

tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Archimedes wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 1:15 pmSeems to work under DroidFish.
Works, including personality books. But the other distribution has the nn-62ef826d1a6d.nnue - where to put it... there is no hint if it's being used, it's not configurable in the uci options.
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

tapio wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 1:46 pm
Archimedes wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 1:15 pmSeems to work under DroidFish.
Works, including personality books. But the other distribution has the nn-62ef826d1a6d.nnue - where to put it... there is no hint if it's being used, it's not configurable in the uci options.
There is nothing to consider. The network is already embedded. Are you sure it works? I was a little in doubt.
tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Well, at least according to the UCI options. And it uses the player books afaics (eg, chose a nimzo opening. And instant book move). Book use on DroidFish side is off.

I just don't know why there's 2 personalities to pick.

Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

I have not seen this with the personality files supplied for Rodent NNUE. But it does with the personality files from Rodent IV. So it also works for Rodent NNUE. I would be happy to create an APK file here too, if desired.
tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

apk is interesting, if it would work fully in e. g. Acid Ape Chess. But I think there Rodent will not see the Rodent4 folder. And not make use of personality books. Your non-nnue Rodent 4 distrib imo does not fully work in Acid Ape.
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

tapio wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:22 pm apk is interesting, if it would work fully in e. g. Acid Ape Chess. But I think there Rodent will not see the Rodent4 folder. And not make use of personality books. Your non-nnue Rodent 4 distrib imo does not fully work in Acid Ape.
This is probably due to the new Google Play guidelines (no access to files outside the app). Grant storage access permission to a chess app no longer works (exceptions: Chess for Android 6.2.1 and DroidFish).
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

tapio wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 11:22 pm apk is interesting, if it would work fully in e. g. Acid Ape Chess. But I think there Rodent will not see the Rodent4 folder. And not make use of personality books. Your non-nnue Rodent 4 distrib imo does not fully work in Acid Ape.
The additional files (books and personality files) would have to be embedded in the executable file, similar to what is done with the networks. Then it would work. Alternatively, you would have to copy the additional files into the private directory of the chess app. Each chess app has its own private directory to which it can read and write. For Chess for Android, for example, the private directory is /storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.google.android.chess. If you copy the additional files (books and personality files) into this directory (/storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.google.android.chess/Rodent4), it will also work with the latest version of Chess for Android. However, you have to adapt the source code of Rodent accordingly so that Rodent knows where to find its additional files.
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

The following version should work for Acid Ape Chess. Simply copy the additional files into the following directory:
/storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.acideapestudios.acidapechess/Rodent4/
If you cannot create the directory, then use a connected computer.

https://app.box.com/s/48bbinj70cazhyzsvo5fjottyobkkm9p
tapio
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 30, 2024 10:33 am
Full name: Michael Scheer

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by tapio »

Oh great, thx for your effort. No, it's not working, I assume it because it does not make of personality books. I copied Rodents files to where you wrote, so eg there is /storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.acideapestudios.acidapechess/Rodent4/personalities/

Acid Ape on my Android 10 has its files in some hidden place, for non-root. It did not use
Android/data/com.acideapestudios.acidapechess/Rodent4

E. g., I cannot access its pgn of played games via Totalcmd. I don't know where it's user files reside. Maybe /data/data/... 😳 thx Google.

Where does the apk installer put your engine files?
Archimedes
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 3:43 pm
Full name: Archimedes

Re: How can I configure Rodent IV in Android chess GUIs?

Post by Archimedes »

tapio wrote: Tue Jul 02, 2024 9:05 pm Oh great, thx for your effort. No, it's not working, I assume it because it does not make of personality books. I copied Rodents files to where you wrote, so eg there is /storage/emulated/0/Android/data/com.acideapestudios.acidapechess/Rodent4/personalities/

Acid Ape on my Android 10 has its files in some hidden place, for non-root. It did not use
Android/data/com.acideapestudios.acidapechess/Rodent4

E. g., I cannot access its pgn of played games via Totalcmd. I don't know where it's user files reside. Maybe /data/data/... 😳 thx Google.

Where does the apk installer put your engine files?
I use the chess engine support library for Android from https://github.com/gkalab/chessenginesupport-androidlib and adapted the project to the latest version of Android Studio. I haven't explicitly looked into this yet, but presumably the apps are installed to /data/app.

I'll test the whole thing myself. However, I had to realize that Acid Ape Chess does not work for me. When I start it, I get a strange message that a license could not be found, but Acid Ape Chess is free, right? I'll test it on another device.

We're already talking about this version here?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... l=de&gl=US