I've just discovered that in 2023 they updated the rule again, this time rolling back to the previous version with some changes -- but it's still bad.
It's surprising that it's possible to fail to write clear rules for so long, for something as strict and deterministic as chess.
So, before (in 2018 version):
Current (2023):9.2.2
Positions are considered the same if and only if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares and the possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same. Thus positions are not the same if:
9.2.2.1 at the start of the sequence a pawn could have been captured en passant
9.2.2.2 a king had castling rights with a rook that has not been moved, but forfeited these after moving. The castling rights are lost only after the king or rook is moved.
Questions:Positions are considered the same, if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same.
Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant can no longer be captured in this manner. When a king or a rook is forced to move, it will lose its castling rights, if any, only after it is moved.
- What does "possible moves of both players" mean? At any given moment, only one player has right to move -- so what "both" is doing here?
- If a player has right to castle but cannot execute it (e.g. there is an own piece between a king and a rook), and then the same position repeats but the right to castle was lost by then -- it is a repetition? (after all, the set of "possible moves" is the same).
- Some people argue to two points above that "possible moves" are not in the current position, but rather all future possible moves in the game. -- but then if we approach the 75-move forced draw horizon and therefore lose ability to do some future moves -- does it cancel the repetition?
- If (during the first repetition) a pawn "can" capture en passant, but not really, because it would open a check to the king, is it a repetition or not?
- In the last sentence of the rules, what if a king or a rook are not "forced" to move but just moved without being forced? (What does "forced" mean at all? Rules don't define or use this term elsewhere. If it's not because of a check but because all other pieces are blocked -- is it forced?)